HomeTamarac NewsBroward County Public Schools to hold the annual Kids and Staff of...

Broward County Public Schools to hold the annual Kids and Staff of Character Awards this week


Fort Lauderdale, Florida – Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) proudly presents the 24th Annual Kids and Staff of Character Awards, taking place on Wednesday, May 15, at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Amaturo Theater. The event, set to begin at 7 p.m., will recognize 50 students and 20 BCPS staff members who have exemplified outstanding character throughout the school year.

Recognizing Core Values

This prestigious ceremony is not just a celebration but a recognition of the core values that form the foundation of the educational and social environment within BCPS. Honored students and staff members have demonstrated admirable adherence to eight District-adopted core character traits: cooperation, responsibility, citizenship, kindness, respect, honesty, self-control, and tolerance. These traits are promoted actively within the school community through classroom curricula and various school-related activities, aiming to foster a safe and respectful learning atmosphere for all students.

Nominations for the awards came from schools across the District, with candidates selected for consistently embodying these traits in their daily actions and interactions. The BCPS Mental Health Services Department organizes the event annually, underscoring the importance of character development in educational settings.

2024 Honorees

Each student honoree has been chosen for their unique contributions to fostering the core traits within their school environments. Among the students celebrated are:

  • Thanh (Lily) Tran – Atlantic Technical College and High School
  • Kamila Cruz Galindo – Bennett Elementary School
  • Re’Shad Higgins – Blanche Ely High School
  • Sariyah Craig – Broadview Elementary School
  • Julian Mijangos – Central Park Elementary School
  • Asher Martin – Challenger Elementary School
  • Marc Raphael Jr – Chapel Trail Elementary School
  • Ashton Irving – Colbert Elementary School
  • Samantha Spigelman – Cooper City Elementary School
  • Leonel Vega – Country Hills Elementary School
  • Sophia Garcia – Deerfield Beach Elementary School
  • Sachi Soubra – Deerfield Beach High School
  • Cathy Marchan-Capitanio – Everglades High School
  • Mansha Pardasani – Falcon Cove Middle School
  • Mason Chunowitz – Flamingo Elementary School
  • Siobhan Noone – Floranada Elementary School
  • Valyncia McKay – Gulfstream Early Learning Center
  • Oscar Amador – Heron Height Elementary School
  • Ricknelys Ramos Lopez – Hollywood Hills High School
  • Derilin Fuller – James S. Hunt Elementary School
  • Aryana Sekercioglu – Indian Trace Elementary School
  • Ethan McFarlane – Lauderhill 6-12
  • Shaneka Luders – Margate Middle School
  • Juan Monroy Martinez – Thurgood Marshall Elementary School
  • Aseel Ismail – McFatter Technical College and High School
  • Ellie Allison – McNab Elementary School
  • Kyle LaFrance – New River Middle School
  • Maria Bolivar – Nob Hill Elementary School
  • Olivia Smith – Nova Blanche Forman Elementary School
  • Skylar Cijuste – Orange Brook Elementary School
  • Haley Goldie – Park Springs Elementary School
  • Brooklyn DeFroscia – Parkside Elementary School
  • Isabella Mir – Pasadena Lakes Elementary School
  • Michael Chancy – Pembroke Pines Charter Elementary East
  • Andia Reid – Pines Lakes Elementary School
  • Kady Perez – Plantation High School
  • Paola Valencia – Plantation Park Elementary School
  • Emma Stetler – Riverside Elementary School
  • Tomike Jagne – Sandpiper Elementary School
  • Fayola Jean Francois – Sawgrass Springs Middle School
  • Mason Johnson – Sea Castle Elementary School
  • Macy Sznitken – Seminole Middle School
  • Emma Sweetland – Sheridan Park Elementary School
  • Solace Previl – Silver Trail Middle School
  • Nylah Warren – Somerset Riverside Academy
  • Aspen Roberts – South Broward High School
  • Miracle Rojas – Sunset Lakes Elementary School
  • Lays Vitorino – Tradewinds Elementary School
  • Shanice Bethel – Westwood Heights Elementary School
  • Luisa Moreno – Whiddon-Rogers Education Center

Check also: Broward County High Schools among nation’s best in U.S. News & World Report rankings

BCPS staff members were also recognized for their influence and dedication to promoting these values:

  • Carmen Baiz – Avant Garde Academy
  • Maria Rosenthal – Chapel Trail Elementary School
  • Ryan Pinney – Coral Springs Charter
  • Elisabeth Joseph – Crystal Lake Middle School
  • Chigozie Enukora – Dolphin Bay Elementary School
  • Mary Corll – Floranada Elementary School
  • Lisa Cook – Hollywood Hills High School
  • Margarita Guzman – James S. Hunt Elementary School
  • David Wood – McFatter Technical College and High School
  • Chandra Lee – McNicol Middle School
  • Pamela Parish-Smith – Orange Brook Elementary School
  • Brinta Pharisien – Parkway Middle School
  • Lily Suarez – Pembroke Lakes Elementary School
  • Aaronette Gresham – Plantation Middle School
  • Heather Emery – Sandpiper Elementary School
  • Peter Tulloch – Silver Lakes Middle School
  • Erica Doyle – Silver Ridge Elementary School
  • Yosleny Valera – Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
  • McKinson Souverain – Sunrise Middle School
  • Pamela Lustig – Winston Park Elementary School

Event Details and Further Information

The awards ceremony promises to be a memorable evening of celebration and recognition at the Amaturo Theater of the Broward Center for the Performing Arts. Media coverage is encouraged to highlight the positive impact of these role models within the BCPS system. This event not only honors individual achievements but also reinforces the community’s commitment to building a nurturing environment that values character as the core of educational success.

For additional information about the event, attendees can contact the BCPS Mental Health Services Department, which continues to lead the initiative in recognizing and promoting character excellence across the district.

Read more