HomeTamarac NewsNortheast Broward cities prepare for March local elections

Northeast Broward cities prepare for March local elections


Hilsboro Beach, Florida – In March, people living in three cities in Northeast Broward—Hillsboro Beach, Lighthouse Point, and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea – will vote for their city leaders. The candidates started signing up on January 2, and the election is set for Tuesday, March 19.

In Hillsboro Beach, voters will pick candidates for two available spots. The current mayor, Irene Kirdahy, is term-limited and cannot seek re-election. But Commissioner Jane Reiser is eligible to run for another two-year term.

Over in Lighthouse Point, voters will decide on the futures of Mayor Kyle Van Buskirk, Commission President Sandy Johnson, and Commissioner Everett Marshall. Van Buskirk got his job in 2022 when he was appointed to take over from Glenn Troast, who passed away. Sandy Johnson brings a wealth of experience, having served on the board for 20 years, while Everett Marshall’s tenure began with his appointment to fill Van Buskirk’s former commission seat.

Then there’s Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, where the community will vote on who will fill the roles of Mayor Chris Vincent, District 1 Commissioner Edmund Malkoon, and District 2 Commissioner Buz Oldaker. They can all run for their seats again if they choose to.

The deadline for candidates to file is Jan. 9.

Read more